bay head yacht club application

Make a donation...

Please send donations to payable to:.

bay head yacht club application

A Short History of BHYC

The Bay Head Yacht Club was established on September 8, 1888 “to promote yachting and rowing and to foster athletic sports upon the water”. Bay Head was then emerging as a popular seaside resort that attracted prominent families from Philadelphia and New York. The first clubhouse was built in 1889 on pilings at the head of Barnegat Bay. The modest building was surrounded by marshes and reached from land by boardwalks. In 1893 the clubhouse was moved 100 yards east to its present location and in 1928 the current clubhouse was built to accommodate a growing membership. BHYC members were active participants in early sneakbox and catboat racing on the shallow waters of Barnegat Bay. In 1914 the Club was a founding member of the Barnegat Bay Yacht Racing Association. Bay Head Commodore John V.A. Cattus was elected the BBYRA’s first commodore. That summer O.G. Dale of BHYC won the first BBYRA championship in his 20’ Sneakbox “Arran”. Since then BHYC sailors have won 175 championships in classes ranging from E Scows to Barnegat Bay’s splendid wooden A Cats. Bay Head has had many prominent sailors in its history including Slade Dale, winner of the Cruising Club of America’s Blue Water Medal for 1929 for a cruise to Cuba and back in “Postscript”, a 23’ cutter designed by Dale himself. Also Sam Merrick, champion E Scow sailor, who managed the U.S. Olympic Sailing Team to its best showing ever: an unprecedented three gold and two silver medals in 1984. Sam was honored later that year with US Sailing’s most prestigious award, The Nathanael Herreshoff Trophy. BHYC's campus is a "key site" in Bay Head's historic district. It includes two buildings separately listed on the National Register as "contributing structures" within the historic district: our clubhouse and the boat shed, formerly known as Dale's Yacht Basin, on Lake Avenue.  BHYC welcomes visitors accompanied by members. We ask all guests and members to remember ...

A Few of Our Rules

bay head yacht club application

Overnight Dockage for Transient Vessels

Please call the Club Office at 732-899-2000 to make arrangements. We have limited space, so please allow us about a week's notice.  

Bay Head Yacht Club 111 Metcalfe Street Bay Head, N. J. 08742

Office: (732) 899-2000 Fax: (732) 899-2085

Northern New Jersey: Garden State Parkway South to Exit 98. Bear left after tollbooth heading toward Route 34 South-Point Pleasant. Follow Route 34 South through circle. Within 4-5 miles Route 34 South becomes Route 35 South. Follow Route 35 South through Point Pleasant Beach. After crossing over the Railroad Tracks proceed South on Route 35 to the 3rd traffic light, Bridge Avenue. Turn right at this light onto Bridge Avenue. Proceed straight, through next traffic light (Lake Avenue) and at the next street, Club Drive, make a left. At the end of Club Drive turn right. Parking lot is at the end of the Tennis Courts. Southern New Jersey: Garden State Parkway North to Exit 90. Exit to the right and turn onto Chambersbridge Road. At the 4th traffic light, turn left onto Route 70. Staying in the right lane, continue on Route 70 to the 2nd traffic light and follow signs for Route 88. Stay on Route 88 through 4 traffic lights. At the 5th traffic light turn right onto Bridge Avenue. Continue on Bridge Avenue through 4 traffic lights. After the 4th traffic light continue to the 3rd street, turn right onto Club Drive. At the end of Club Drive turn right. Parking Lot is at the end of the Tennis Courts. Western New Jersey: New Jersey Turnpike to Exit 7A, Interstate 195 East. Interstate 195 East approximately 30 miles to Route 34 South-Brielle/Point Pleasant. Follow Route 34 South through circle. Within 4-5 miles Route 34 South becomes Route 35 South. Follow Route 35 South through Point Pleasant Beach. After crossing over the Railroad Tracks proceed South on Route 35 to the 3rd traffic light, Bridge Avenue. Turn right at this light onto Bridge Avenue. Proceed straight, through next traffic light (Lake Avenue) and at the next street, Club Drive, make a left. At the end of Club Drive turn right. Parking lot is at the end of the Tennis Courts.

Icon image

Bay Head Yacht Club

Content rating

About this app

Data safety.

Icon image

The Unique Burial of a Child of Early Scythian Time at the Cemetery of Saryg-Bulun (Tuva)

<< Previous page

Pages:  379-406

In 1988, the Tuvan Archaeological Expedition (led by M. E. Kilunovskaya and V. A. Semenov) discovered a unique burial of the early Iron Age at Saryg-Bulun in Central Tuva. There are two burial mounds of the Aldy-Bel culture dated by 7th century BC. Within the barrows, which adjoined one another, forming a figure-of-eight, there were discovered 7 burials, from which a representative collection of artifacts was recovered. Burial 5 was the most unique, it was found in a coffin made of a larch trunk, with a tightly closed lid. Due to the preservative properties of larch and lack of air access, the coffin contained a well-preserved mummy of a child with an accompanying set of grave goods. The interred individual retained the skin on his face and had a leather headdress painted with red pigment and a coat, sewn from jerboa fur. The coat was belted with a leather belt with bronze ornaments and buckles. Besides that, a leather quiver with arrows with the shafts decorated with painted ornaments, fully preserved battle pick and a bow were buried in the coffin. Unexpectedly, the full-genomic analysis, showed that the individual was female. This fact opens a new aspect in the study of the social history of the Scythian society and perhaps brings us back to the myth of the Amazons, discussed by Herodotus. Of course, this discovery is unique in its preservation for the Scythian culture of Tuva and requires careful study and conservation.

Keywords: Tuva, Early Iron Age, early Scythian period, Aldy-Bel culture, barrow, burial in the coffin, mummy, full genome sequencing, aDNA

Information about authors: Marina Kilunovskaya (Saint Petersburg, Russian Federation). Candidate of Historical Sciences. Institute for the History of Material Culture of the Russian Academy of Sciences. Dvortsovaya Emb., 18, Saint Petersburg, 191186, Russian Federation E-mail: [email protected] Vladimir Semenov (Saint Petersburg, Russian Federation). Candidate of Historical Sciences. Institute for the History of Material Culture of the Russian Academy of Sciences. Dvortsovaya Emb., 18, Saint Petersburg, 191186, Russian Federation E-mail: [email protected] Varvara Busova  (Moscow, Russian Federation).  (Saint Petersburg, Russian Federation). Institute for the History of Material Culture of the Russian Academy of Sciences.  Dvortsovaya Emb., 18, Saint Petersburg, 191186, Russian Federation E-mail:  [email protected] Kharis Mustafin  (Moscow, Russian Federation). Candidate of Technical Sciences. Moscow Institute of Physics and Technology.  Institutsky Lane, 9, Dolgoprudny, 141701, Moscow Oblast, Russian Federation E-mail:  [email protected] Irina Alborova  (Moscow, Russian Federation). Candidate of Biological Sciences. Moscow Institute of Physics and Technology.  Institutsky Lane, 9, Dolgoprudny, 141701, Moscow Oblast, Russian Federation E-mail:  [email protected] Alina Matzvai  (Moscow, Russian Federation). Moscow Institute of Physics and Technology.  Institutsky Lane, 9, Dolgoprudny, 141701, Moscow Oblast, Russian Federation E-mail:  [email protected]

Shopping Cart Items: 0 Cart Total: 0,00 € place your order

Price pdf version

student - 2,75 € individual - 3,00 € institutional - 7,00 €

We accept

Copyright В© 1999-2022. Stratum Publishing House

Expedia Rewards is now One Key™

Elektrostal, visit elektrostal, check elektrostal hotel availability, popular places to visit.

  • Electrostal History and Art Museum

You can spend time exploring the galleries in Electrostal History and Art Museum in Elektrostal. Take in the museums while you're in the area.

  • Cities near Elektrostal

Photo by Ksander

  • Places of interest
  • Yuri Gagarin Cosmonaut Training Center
  • Central Museum of the Air Forces at Monino
  • Peter the Great Military Academy
  • History of Russian Scarfs and Shawls Museum
  • Balashikha Arena
  • Ramenskii History and Art Museum
  • Balashikha Museum of History and Local Lore
  • Bykovo Manor
  • Pekhorka Park
  • Malenky Puppet Theater
  • Drama Theatre BOOM
  • Likino Dulevo Museum of Local Lore
  • Pavlovsky Posad Museum of Art and History
  • Saturn Stadium
  • Noginsk Museum and Exhibition Center
  • Fairy Tale Children's Model Puppet Theater
  • Fifth House Gallery
  • Church of Vladimir
  • Malakhovka Museum of History and Culture
  • Orekhovo Zuevsky City Exhibition Hall

Rusmania

  • Yekaterinburg
  • Novosibirsk
  • Vladivostok

bay head yacht club application

  • Tours to Russia
  • Practicalities
  • Russia in Lists
Rusmania • Deep into Russia

Out of the Centre

Savvino-storozhevsky monastery and museum.

Savvino-Storozhevsky Monastery and Museum

Zvenigorod's most famous sight is the Savvino-Storozhevsky Monastery, which was founded in 1398 by the monk Savva from the Troitse-Sergieva Lavra, at the invitation and with the support of Prince Yury Dmitrievich of Zvenigorod. Savva was later canonised as St Sabbas (Savva) of Storozhev. The monastery late flourished under the reign of Tsar Alexis, who chose the monastery as his family church and often went on pilgrimage there and made lots of donations to it. Most of the monastery’s buildings date from this time. The monastery is heavily fortified with thick walls and six towers, the most impressive of which is the Krasny Tower which also serves as the eastern entrance. The monastery was closed in 1918 and only reopened in 1995. In 1998 Patriarch Alexius II took part in a service to return the relics of St Sabbas to the monastery. Today the monastery has the status of a stauropegic monastery, which is second in status to a lavra. In addition to being a working monastery, it also holds the Zvenigorod Historical, Architectural and Art Museum.

Belfry and Neighbouring Churches

bay head yacht club application

Located near the main entrance is the monastery's belfry which is perhaps the calling card of the monastery due to its uniqueness. It was built in the 1650s and the St Sergius of Radonezh’s Church was opened on the middle tier in the mid-17th century, although it was originally dedicated to the Trinity. The belfry's 35-tonne Great Bladgovestny Bell fell in 1941 and was only restored and returned in 2003. Attached to the belfry is a large refectory and the Transfiguration Church, both of which were built on the orders of Tsar Alexis in the 1650s.  

bay head yacht club application

To the left of the belfry is another, smaller, refectory which is attached to the Trinity Gate-Church, which was also constructed in the 1650s on the orders of Tsar Alexis who made it his own family church. The church is elaborately decorated with colourful trims and underneath the archway is a beautiful 19th century fresco.

Nativity of Virgin Mary Cathedral

bay head yacht club application

The Nativity of Virgin Mary Cathedral is the oldest building in the monastery and among the oldest buildings in the Moscow Region. It was built between 1404 and 1405 during the lifetime of St Sabbas and using the funds of Prince Yury of Zvenigorod. The white-stone cathedral is a standard four-pillar design with a single golden dome. After the death of St Sabbas he was interred in the cathedral and a new altar dedicated to him was added.

bay head yacht club application

Under the reign of Tsar Alexis the cathedral was decorated with frescoes by Stepan Ryazanets, some of which remain today. Tsar Alexis also presented the cathedral with a five-tier iconostasis, the top row of icons have been preserved.

Tsaritsa's Chambers

bay head yacht club application

The Nativity of Virgin Mary Cathedral is located between the Tsaritsa's Chambers of the left and the Palace of Tsar Alexis on the right. The Tsaritsa's Chambers were built in the mid-17th century for the wife of Tsar Alexey - Tsaritsa Maria Ilinichna Miloskavskaya. The design of the building is influenced by the ancient Russian architectural style. Is prettier than the Tsar's chambers opposite, being red in colour with elaborately decorated window frames and entrance.

bay head yacht club application

At present the Tsaritsa's Chambers houses the Zvenigorod Historical, Architectural and Art Museum. Among its displays is an accurate recreation of the interior of a noble lady's chambers including furniture, decorations and a decorated tiled oven, and an exhibition on the history of Zvenigorod and the monastery.

Palace of Tsar Alexis

bay head yacht club application

The Palace of Tsar Alexis was built in the 1650s and is now one of the best surviving examples of non-religious architecture of that era. It was built especially for Tsar Alexis who often visited the monastery on religious pilgrimages. Its most striking feature is its pretty row of nine chimney spouts which resemble towers.

bay head yacht club application

Plan your next trip to Russia

Ready-to-book tours.

Your holiday in Russia starts here. Choose and book your tour to Russia.

REQUEST A CUSTOMISED TRIP

Looking for something unique? Create the trip of your dreams with the help of our experts.

IMAGES

  1. Bay Head Yacht Club

    bay head yacht club application

  2. Bay Head Yacht Club

    bay head yacht club application

  3. Tour of the Bay Head Yacht Club

    bay head yacht club application

  4. Bay Head Yacht Club Foundation

    bay head yacht club application

  5. Private ClubHouse at Bay Head Yacht Club Bay Head, NJ

    bay head yacht club application

  6. Bay Head Yacht Club

    bay head yacht club application

COMMENTS

  1. Bay Head Yacht Club

    Established in 1888. The mission of the Bay Head Yacht Club is to attract and engage dedicated members to enjoy yachting, tennis and other compatible leisure and sporting activities in a family oriented environment that respects tradition, courtesy and sportsmanship. We are committed to serving as an inspirational center of yachting activities ...

  2. Bay Head Yacht Club Guest Information Bay Head, NJ

    Members and guests are advised that, in accordance with the Club's Employee Handbook, the solicitation or acceptance of a gratuity by an employee may be grounds for immediate dismissal. Animals: Animals are not permitted in the clubhouse or on the Club docks or grounds except for guide dogs. Bay Head Yacht Club is a family centric club.

  3. Bay Head Yacht Club

    Bay Head Yacht ClubThe Bay Head Yacht Club was organized and founded in 1888 to promote yachting and rowing and to foster athletic sports upon the water and to promote the general prosperity of Bay Head. More than 120 years later, BHYC enjoys a membership of almost 900 families. The Club is located at the northern terminus of Barnegat Bay in New Jersey where several sailing Olympians and world ...

  4. Bay Head Yacht Club History Bay Head, NJ

    1888. The Club was originally founded "to promote yachting and rowing and to foster athletic sports upon the water". This mission was set forth by seven founding members, each playing an integral role in the early and enduring success of Bay Head Yacht Club.

  5. Bay Head, NJ

    Sailing At BHYC. Since our earliest days, Bay Head Yacht Club has always enjoyed strong sailing programs aimed at ably serving our family-oriented membership, as well as furthering the sport of sailing. That strength continues today with a nationally renowned Junior Sailing program, healthy, competitive intra-club and inter-club racing fleets ...

  6. Platinum Club of America

    On September 8, 1888 the Bay Head Yacht Club was founded by an interesting mix of local and summer residents. Coming from different walks of life (real estate developers, boat builders and building contractors) this collection of men made one thing perfectly clear: they were there to take their stewardship of this young club and its yachting activities very seriously.

  7. Bay Head Yacht Club Foundation

    First Name:Last Name:Email:Amount: BHYC Account #:Reason for donation:Submit Donation. Please send donations to payable to: Bay Head Yacht Club Foundation. Attention: Jeff Willey. 111 Metcalfe Street. Bay Head, NJ 08742. Please indicate "in memorial for ... " on your check if applicable. Cancel.

  8. Bay Head Yacht Club 2023

    Bay Head Yacht Club. About Us Sailing Racquets Weddings & Events BHYC Foundation Search Site; Member Log in; About Us 2023. The summer of 2023 welcomed the newest addition to the BHYC campus. ... Bay Head, NJ 08742 [email protected] 732.899.2000 Search Site Employment Information; Guest Information ...

  9. Bay Head, NJ

    Bay Head Yacht Club 111 Metcalfe Street Bay Head, N. J. 08742. Office: (732) 899-2000 Fax: (732) 899-2085. Directions. View Larger Map. Northern New Jersey: Garden State Parkway South to Exit 98. Bear left after tollbooth heading toward Route 34 South-Point Pleasant. Follow Route 34 South through circle. Within 4-5 miles Route 34 South becomes ...

  10. Private Yacht Club Sailing

    The protected waters of Barnegat Bay and its reliable summer sea-breeze have produced some of the finest small boat sailors anywhere in the world. BHYC proudly displays close to 200 BBYRA championship flags in our historic Ballroom. Thanks to strong Club support, BHYC's Junior Sailing program is among the strongest in the country. Our sailors ...

  11. Bay Head Yacht Club

    About this app. Welcome to the Bay Head Yacht Club where the experience of our members is our primary focus. We have developed a custom app to enhance your experience on and off property. We have a full member photo directory as well as a staff directory. With a touch of a button, you can message the Harbormaster, request a sailboat or reserve ...

  12. Bay Head Yacht Club Recreation

    Bay Head Yacht Club. About Us Sailing Racquets Weddings & Events BHYC Foundation Search Site; Member Log in; Recreation . Recreation Bridge Winter Bridge ... Bay Head, NJ 08742 [email protected] 732.899.2000 Search Site Employment Information; Guest Information ...

  13. H-2b Job Order

    Job Order in connection with an H-2B application Bay Head Yacht Club, 2 temporary full time jobs (4/01/22-11/01/22) located in Bay Head, NJ. 35 hrs/wk minimum, shifts and shift hours vary Mon-Sun 6a-10p. ... Mail resume to Bay Head Yacht Club - 111 Metcalfe St, Bay Head, NJ 08742 or contact NJ SWA at 609-292-5879 ...

  14. PDF Director of Racquets Profile: Bay Head Yacht Club

    BAY HEAD YACHT CLUB BAY HEAD, NJ ... 6th deadline will be hard pressed to complete the application process. Interviews will occur in early-January 2022, with the new DOR starting in early February 2022. Please upload your resume and cover letter, in that order, using the link below. You should have your documents

  15. Bay Head Yacht Club ⋆ The Sailing Museum

    Bay Head Yacht Club. bayheadyachtclub.org. 111 Metcalfe Street. Bay Head , NJ 08742. (732) 899-2000. The Bay Head Yacht Club was established in 1888 in Bay Head, New Jersey. BHYC members were active participants in early sneakbox and catboat racing on the shallow waters of Barnegat Bay. In 1914 the club was a founding member of the Barnegat Bay ...

  16. Bay Head Yacht Club View Announcement: 5/15/2024

    Bay Head Yacht Club. About Us Sailing Racquets Weddings & Events BHYC Foundation Search Site; Member Log in; Email Bulletin . 2024 Membership Directories • Available For Pickup Over Memorial Day Weekend ... Bay Head, NJ 08742 [email protected] 732.899.2000 Search Site Employment Information; Guest Information ...

  17. Bay Head Yacht Club

    Built in the early 1920's, the Bay Head Yacht Club is a historic landmark and center for seaside activities on Barnegat Bay in Bay Head, New Jersey. Originally constructed on wood pilings at the water's edge, the clubhouse and its foundation had reached the point of failure after years of rising sea levels and the disastrous effects of ...

  18. Bay Head Yacht Club

    Bay Head Yacht Club. About Us Sailing Racquets Weddings & Events BHYC Foundation Search Site; Member Log in; Email Bulletin . Seafood Education and Dinner: Featuring Atlantic Offshore Fishery ... Bay Head, NJ 08742 [email protected] 732.899.2000 Search Site Employment Information; Guest Information ...

  19. PDF 7-30-07 revised Gen'l Affidavit

    GENERAL AFFIDAVIT Russian Federation..... ) Moscow Oblast ..... ) City of Moscow.....

  20. The Unique Burial of a Child of Early Scythian Time at the Cemetery of

    In 1988, the Tuvan Archaeological Expedition (led by M. E. Kilunovskaya and V. A. Semenov) discovered a unique burial of the early Iron Age at Saryg-Bulun in Central Tuva. There are two burial mounds of the Aldy-Bel culture dated by 7th century BC. Within the barrows, which adjoined one another, forming a figure-of-eight, there were discovered ...

  21. Bay Head Yacht Club

    Event Date: 6/14/2024. Event Time: 10:30 am - 12:00 pm. Category: Dining & Events. May's Book - "Go As A River". By Shelley Read - A sweeping, heart-stopping epic of a young woman's' journey to becoming, set against the harsh beauty of mid-century Colorado. Lunch is available after the discussion.

  22. Visit Elektrostal: 2024 Travel Guide for Elektrostal, Moscow Oblast

    Cities near Elektrostal. Places of interest. Pavlovskiy Posad Noginsk. Travel guide resource for your visit to Elektrostal. Discover the best of Elektrostal so you can plan your trip right.

  23. Savvino-Storozhevsky Monastery and Museum

    Zvenigorod's most famous sight is the Savvino-Storozhevsky Monastery, which was founded in 1398 by the monk Savva from the Troitse-Sergieva Lavra, at the invitation and with the support of Prince Yury Dmitrievich of Zvenigorod. Savva was later canonised as St Sabbas (Savva) of Storozhev. The monastery late flourished under the reign of Tsar ...